Technical Education Post

News and Information for Technical Educators

Leaders in Northwestern University Engineering Inducted into National Academy of Engineering

Five Northwestern University alumni and professionals will be inducted into the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) on Oct. 4 in Washington, D.C. The inductees will join 105 others who were announced by the NAE on Feb. 6.

The five newest members of the NAE include Jorge Nocedal, Horacio Espinosa, Latonia Harris, Gwynne Shotwell and Stephan Biller.

“We are extremely proud that Horacio and Jorge have been recognized at the highest level in our field. They are both outstanding researchers and educators, known for their spirit of collaboration,” said Julio M. Ottino, dean of the McCormick School of Engineering in a press release. “To also have three outstanding alumni, Latonia, Gwynne, and Stephan, join the ranks of the most accomplished engineers delights me, knowing their foundation was built at Northwestern Engineering.”

Nocedal joined Northwestern in 1983 and served as chair of the Department of Industrial Engineering from 2013 to 2017. Espinosa joined Northwestern in 2000 with work focused on understanding the mechanical behavior of natural and synthetic nanomaterials across scales.

Harris, Shotwell and Biller are all alumni of Northwestern.

Tom Shaw

Technical Education Post, Online Publisher

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Upcoming Events